CosplayPro Spotlight – Bri

Hello cosplay fans, and welcome to our first in a series of in depth interviews of cosplayers, photographers, and artists!

Our first interviewee is Bri, known as NekoMimiChan on Cosplay.com, who has cosplayed such things as Muramasa: The Demon Blade, Soul Calibur IV, Hellsing, and Monster Hunter, and much more. If anyone wants to add her on PSN, she’s Nekomimichan.

     CosplayPro: Hi, Bri and thank you for agreeing to the interview! Could you tell us a little about yourself?

     Bri: In short, I’m a nerd; a nerd in every aspect of my life. I am a 22-year-old graduate student in Miami, FL, working toward my Ph.D. in psychology. I conduct research in developmental psychobiology and work at the university, giving substitute lectures in undergraduate classes. In whatever free time I have, I play video games, watch anime, and, of course, cosplay!

     Cosplay allows me to work with my hands, whether it’s a power saw or a sewing machine, and helps to relieve some stress. I have a wonderful boyfriend, going on 7 years, who’s just as geeky. He’s my partner in crime, my fellow Monster Hunter, and overall great guy.

     CosplayPro: I know you’ve cosplayed a lot of characters, but what’s your favorite cosplay of yours?

     Bri: My favorite cosplay? That’s a very hard decision. I always say that my last completed costume is my favorite; in this case Momohime from Muramasa: The Demon Blade. As soon as I finish the next project, it then becomes my favorite – often because I learn new techniques and try to improve my skills with every new costume.

     CosplayPro: What was the most difficult cosplay of yours to complete?

     Bri: It’s usually the costumes that look the easiest that turn out to be deceptively difficult. I would say the hardest complete costume would be my Monster Hunter guild armor. The costume itself wasn’t particularly hard, but the props were a challenge.


     I learned how to carve insulation foam and use fiberglass resin to recreate the “Lacerator” greatsword and the BBQ spit. The process was an adventure, but I am extremely happy with the result.

     CosplayPro: The picture looks amazing! It was worth ti! Now for something easier, favorite anime?

     Bri: I don’t know if I can pick just one, so I’ll give you my top 5: Neon Genesis Evangelion, Ghost in the Shell, Cowboy Bebop, Princess Mononoke, and Perfect Blue.

     CosplayPro: Do you think it is is any different studying for a PHD and cosplaying?

     Bri: They are completely different areas of my life, which is why they compliment each other so nicely. I approach each of them with passion, diligence, and creativity. Having both of these aspects helps balance my life, so that I don’t become overwhelmed with either. Sometimes the areas will overlap. For example, I use what I learn in prop construction in order to build different apparatus for the lab.

     CosplayPro: We know the favorite cosplay of yours, but what do you think is the best one?

     Bri: Another difficult choice. I would have to also say Momohime because of the level of intricacy of the costume. I love the character design and art of Muramasa and really wanted to make everything perfect, even if it meant making certain parts several times. Again, for my next costumes I want to push myself to make something even better than before. Who knows what’s next!

      CosplayPro: Anything else you would like to add?

     Bri: Everyone starts somewhere. I have a bunch of costumes from when I started cosplaying and they are truely embarassing! Don’t be shy to start cosplaying, like all of us you’ll learn on your way new skills and make new friends. Cosplay is a great, and addictive, hobby.

     CosplayPro: Thank you Bri! It was a pleasure. Your cosplays look amazing and we look forward to seeing more!

     Bri: Thank you very much!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

